Goals Will Get you Where you Want to Go

I’ve been writing goals for myself since I was 8 years old – when I first started riding and showing horses. I can’t even begin to express the importance of them. Goals are what took me from an inexperienced, amateur rider to a successful, polished and confident equestrian.

Now relate this to the “real world” and your goals can take you from a young, beginner marketing/PR person, to an educated, reputable and respectable person in the business. As much as I hated doing it, my mom would force me to write down what my goals were for winter training – it prepared me and pushed me to be ready for the show season starting in early spring. The key with goals is that they must be detailed and specific – so in the end you can attain exactly what you were striving for initially.

One of my recent mentors encouraged me to set personal and work goals with a time frame of 3 months, 6 months, 1 year and 5 years. I’m so glad he had me do that because back when I set these in June: my number one goal for both personal and work was “finding a sense of stability and satisfaction.” As of December 1st, 6 months later, I felt as though I had not accomplished either of those which is why I am now making the necessary changes in my life and career path to help me get where I want to be.

Tips for Goal Setting:

  • First and foremost, write them down (I have mine in a simple Excel sheet).
  • Make a set of goals specific to both your personal life and work life.
  • Set them up in a timely order; 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, 5 years etc (timeframe also depends on what you’re reaching for).
  • Set them within reach; don’t make them so outrageous that they’ll upset you when they’re not met. Goals are milestones, you’re suppose to feel a sense of gratification once they’re met – so make them realistic and attainable.
  • Once you reach a certain goal, reward yourself! Order your favorite take out, grab some drinks with a friend or buy yourself a new pair of shoes!

How do you set goals for yourself? What do you find works best?

“People with goals succeed because they know where they are going… It’s as simple as that.” – Earl Nightingale

One comment on “Goals Will Get you Where you Want to Go

  1. Great post, Sarah.

    If you can set goals and write them down, it is so much easier to achieve them. As a long distance runner, I know without making a schedule, I do not run. Period.

    Lack of accountability will do that to you.

    Thank you for the very informative check list.

Leave a Reply

