Friday the 13th

In my most recent post I mentioned that I had just started reading a “daily” book called Simple Abundance. I decided to write this post based off of last Friday the 13th’s reading because the message paralleled my current place in life so well, a perfect fit. It was titled “Gratitude: Awakening the Heart.”

In summary, the author reveals her constant desire and want for items that she could never afford, a sense of greed. The more she focused on these things the more depressed she became. It got to the point where she was physically and emotionally exhausted from concentrating on them. As soon as she came to the realization that she was torturing herself with these desires and unnecessary needs, she “surrendered her desire for security and sought serenity instead” and decided to give thanks to areas in her life where she was completely satisfied.

This is when I started relating it all to my life. The past few months have been a huge adjustment for any normal person my age – recent graduate, the move to a big city, searching for that ‘big girl’ job, leaving my best friends and family back home AND then to top it all off I hit the most stressful part 4 months after settling in Chicago – financial insecurity <– worst feeling in the world, might I add!! I struggled with the same issue the author spoke of; I focused all my attention on the negative things going on rather than being grateful and aware of all the positive things in my life.

My health, a wonderful loving mother and family, my amazing supportive friends, a great apartment in a thriving and beautiful city, cherishable and unique memories of my dad, my skills and talents and all the opportunities I’ve been given.. the list goes on with things that I am more than thankful for. It doesn’t matter how awareness comes about. All that matters is that you’re aware – and from there the author experienced an overwhelming amount of gratefulness. You begin to notice and appreciate the smallest gifts in life.

And she leaves off with a few things for you to think about: Be open to exchanging your need for emotional and financial security for your serenity. Open “the eyes of your eyes.” Are your basic needs met? Do you have a home, food, clothes, a paycheck, good health? Can you walk, talk and see the beautiful world around you? The list goes on… so with that I feel I have passed along her message as best as I could, hopefully it has the same positive impact on yourself as it did for me. What are you grateful for today?

“Destiny is made known silently.” – Agnes de Mille

6 comments on “Friday the 13th

  1. Aynex says:

    I’m thankful for my family and for getting a new big contract! Woo hoo for me! Thanks for the post!

  2. Wendy Orr says:

    Lovely thoughts! It’s a practice I try to follow, but we always need reminding. Thanks for sharing

  3. Cara says:

    I have three copies of this book in my house. It was my mothers favorite. Think I’m going to pull one out this morning and give it a read. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 , Cara

  4. You truly gave a beautiful testimonial here Sarah. There is so much for us to be grateful for and yet too many people focus on negative and destructive thoughts.

    I’m glad for the reminder as I have plenty to be grateful for and could get a list going that could go on for a while!

    Mainly I am grateful for my children, a wonderful husband and my family. Also my health and positive outlook on life.I am grateful for the choices I make daily and the awareness that personal development brings to my life.

    Keep on shining!

    Nathalie

Leave a Reply

