Happy Pride Day

I’ve been told by many that I must take the time to head up to the Annual Chicago Gay Pride Parade on the last Sunday in June. Ironically enough I live in “boystown” area, so go figure the parade is literally a block from apartment (I can still hear the remaining wanderers outside right now). Anyways, this parade was honestly one of the craziest things I’ve experienced thus far in Chicago. I walked up there with a few friends having no idea what to expect – and trust me I was not disappointed. I can’t even describe some of the things we saw; one, because it’s just indescribable and two, it’s inappropriate for me to even talk about…

Senators, State Reps, Boobs, Butts, Stilts, Rainbows (lots of rainbows), Tutus, Pom Poms, Cowboys, Stiletto Pumps (mostly on the men), Teachers, Children, Half Naked Tuba Players, Grass Skirts, Wedding Dresses, Combat Boots, Butterfly Wings, Harleys, Headdresses, Wigs, Pink (lots of pink), Prince William’s “Other Lover”, A Pageant Queen, Men in Shorts Shorter Than Mine, The Tin Man and did I mention butts and boobs? Yep, I think that pretty much sums it up.

However, I also saw an incredible amount of prideful and unique individuals, some of the happiest people I’ve ever seen. Lyns and I were laughing, but seriously almost in tears at some points (regardless of the fact that I’m the biggest sap ever) it was really neat to see all these people come together and stand for something they believe in, better yet stand up for who they are. Overall, it was definitely worth my time in going – I’ll be back next year for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

