15 Great Interview Questions to Ask Employers

Aside from answering the questions given to you from the employer, you should ALWAYS ALWAYS have a set of questions for them following the interview process. It proves to them that you are prepared and in fact did detailed research of the company prior to your interview, as well as showing a definite interest you have in the company. Although a majority of your questions may get answered,  having plenty more written down will never hurt you. It’ll only help to leave that true, positive impression of yourself with them. So here is a general list of 15 detailed questions I usually ask to help get a better overview of what the company has to offer me.

1. What does a typical day look like for someone like me in this position?

2. Describe your ideal employee for this position, what is the skill set needed in order for someone to succeed?

3. What kind of employees fit in well in your workplace environment?

4. How does your company value their employees (benefits, bonuses, perks etc.)?

5. How will I be measured as an employee? What criteria will I be evaluated on?

6. What would be the most challenging thing for someone like me in this position to get used to?

7. What are the company’s goals over the course of the next 5, 10 years?

8. What are your personal goals in the next 1, 3 and 5 years? (ask the person who is interviewing you, it’s nice to see where they see themselves with the company – and the possible growth for them – and potentially you)

9. Why did you choose to work for this company?

10. What do you enjoy most about working for this company?

11. What are the most enjoyable or gratifying aspects for someone in this position?

12. What does the opportunity for growth and advancement look like at this company?

13. Does the position work closely with upper management? (this may or may not be important to you. To me it is because I don’t want to get lost in the numbers of a large company – I want my voice to be heard, and working with upper management easily allows for that).

14. Has the company faced any challenges in the industry, if so, how have you worked to overcome them?

15. What is the most unique aspect about your company, perhaps something you are proud of?

With that, I wish you the best of luck in all your future interviewing endeavors. And if you have any other questions you feel employers are receptive to, please feel free to share!

4 comments on “15 Great Interview Questions to Ask Employers

  1. Sean says:

    Good list. I might modify the day to a week just because no day is ever set or the same. Another suggestion is why the position is available. Is this newly created or did someone leave? It tells you if they company is growing and what tenure might look like.

  2. nicki minaj says:

    this was a real help THANK YOUUUUU !!!!!

  3. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  4. stacerz02 says:

    Thank you! I will be using these in my interview this morning! Nervous… but trying to keep it cool!

Leave a Reply

